I Know… I Don’t Know…

by Judi Chow

I can’t stand it when people think they have all the answers, particularly when I know that person doesn’t know anything regarding to the subject matter. Did you catch me? I just became that presumptuous person when I wrote, I know that person…! The revelation came during seminary graduation with a little panic, now I know I don’t know much about God, theology, the Bible, and myself for that matter! It was years later that I am thankful I have this awareness- that I don’t know. The next question is, do I really want to know, how much or how deep do I really want to know about God, life, and the future?

An old hymn came to mind– “I don’t know about tomorrow, I just live from day to day… Many things about tomorrow, I don’t seem to understand, but I know who holds tomorrow, and I know who holds my hand.” I have to admit there are many things I don’t understand and have no answers to. I won’t pretend a philosophical answer to “Why does God allow suffering?” will ease the pain of those sobbing or shouting, “Where is God when the building’s crashing down on my parents? Why didn’t God save my wife? How can I go on living while my only son is dead?”

Suffering is painful and separation is difficult no matter how you look at it. How can anyone endure the unbearable and have the strength to face tomorrow? I believe only love can dry the tears and restore hope. Don’t you remember John 3:16? “For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son…” Because of love, God endured separation from His only son. Because of love, Jesus endured suffering for our sake. Because of love, we have hope of restoration. Buildings might crumble, lives would change, but the spirit is not crushed because I know who holds my hand.

Take time to contemplate the meaning of Psalm 119:71 “My suffering was good for me, for it taught me to pay attention to your decrees.” I will never have the answers to many life questions until when I meet Jesus face to face. Meanwhile, get to know God more and more, than I might be able to understand His decrees a little better. I don’t know about you, but I know 1 Corinthians 13:13 “Three things will last forever…” I particularly like the Message translation: “…Trust steadily in God, hope unswervingly, love extravagantly. And the best of the three is love.” Let love be our motivating force to face each new day and to accept the unknown reasons behind the suffering we witness.

5 thoughts on “I Know… I Don’t Know…

  1. My nephew passed away on Tuesday after suffering for three years, He was 3 and a half. His parents are Born Again Christians and we have been calling out to God for three years. I know he has the answers, I know he holds us up when we are weak. It is hard not to ask why, even harder to accept that we will not get an answer now. All we can do is thank Him and Praise Him and trust Him with our tomorrows. Thank you for this post.

    • Thank you for sharing with me the sad news of your nephew… it gets me every time when I hear little ones leave their earthly home even to heaven. Pray for comfort for you and your family during this time of pain of separation.

  2. A post that makes me think of God’s influence in my life. Beautiful narration. As to not knowing all the answers, I’m okay with that because I know that God has them for me. Stay blessed.

  3. Beautiful post that makes the reader reflect on who is the ultimate source of knowledge. I don’t the answers too but I trust that God has them for me. Stay blessed.

  4. For me, not having the answers to everything is a good thing. Reminds me to get up every morning and give everything to God and to fully trust in Him. I think that’s where He wants us. To realize that even crazy, not fun stuff might happen, and we don’t have the answers, that we can still fully trust in Him.

    Keep the faith!

Leave a Reply

